top of page

Heart to Heart about Henley Women's Regatta


Photo by Robert Treharne Jones (Twitter: @voiceofrowing)

I have never been so nervous before in the run up to a regatta. This will be my third year competing at HWR, however my first without any squad members surrounding me. Racing a single has proved to be something I still struggle with and with the increased winds over this past week, every session be it paddle, or pieces has resulted in another blow to my confidence.

I am trying to keep my head held high and remain positive. I keep saying to people “Yeah, I’m pretty sure I’ll make it to Sunday” but…honestly? If I don’t end up qualifying I won’t be surprised (I will be upset, just not surprised). I’m going to give my all over the TT on Friday morning. Theoretically I should have gained some speed since MET, but the numbers aren’t showing this. Also, I’ve been on a ‘taper’ which has included exactly the same mileage as crew boats – to say I’m tired is an understatement!

What do you guys say to yourself to keep your mind in the right place? I really could use all the help you can offer!

Natalie X

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page