top of page

Outfit of the Day: The Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup

Last Saturday I went to the Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup at Ascot Race course, mainly because Craig David was set to light the stage aflame with his silky smooth voice and great song selections. Overall the day was great and I’d certainly recommend it to anyone thinking about experiencing Ascot – I’m not a fan of Royal Ascot due to the sheer volume of people and the Shergar Cup also offers a more relaxed feel.

Dress code was non-existent unless you went into the truly highbrow areas, but we decided to dress up nice anyway (everyone likes a good excuse!) I wore a long kimono-style wrap dress from Asos, with a bright yellow crop top beneath for a pop of colour. My shoes were some ancient lilac court shoes from New Look, which looked nice but were so painful! My feet are frustratingly wide, yet not wide enough to fit well in ‘wide fit’ shoes.

Accessory wise I wore a simple summer hat, stolen from my housemate, and a small metallic shoulder bag from Primark just to carry the essentials. For makeup I kept it light, summery and classic. Recently I’ve been mixing L’oreal Paris Extraordinary Facial Oil into my foundation (Rimmel Lasting Finish), which has been giving my skin a wonderfully healthy glow. My lipstick is Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Stellar, which although saying it dries to a matte finish it feels more like a lip gloss than a lipstick (not necessarily a bad thing).

Ascot allows you to take one bottle of prosecco and picnic food in per person, after racing was finished you were allowed to get another bottle each and re-enter. So you can guess how my day ended up!

Complimentary fairground rides take up the Queen Anne Enclosure, really helping to promote the day as more of a family affair. We only ended up going on one ride, as after a whole bottle of prosecco the G-force was less appreciated than usual! Races wise the jockeys are split into the following teams: Great Britain & Ireland, Europe, The Girls and Rest of the World. Last weekend GB&I were victorious and I kept all my betting to one team so I felt more involved…I only one two of the races but gambling for me is never what the day is about! (It was nice to earn some taxi money though).

Feeder and Scott Mills didn’t do much for me; I love Scott Mills but he’s way too into his nightclub tunes for a Saturday early evening affair! The true highlights were All Saints and of course…Craig David, the legend himself.

I hope your weekends were an adventure!

Natalie x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page