top of page

A Week of Zen – Keeping Fit on Holiday

Happy Tuesday!

Sorry for the week break in blog posts, I have had a tough time recovering from testing week and then I went on holiday – but I’m back now! Last week I went on holiday to sunny (most of the time) Calpe in Spain, it was a glorious few days of ultimate relaxation and peace. Something I had actually been long overdue. I tend to always go on quite busy holidays, with site seeing and days out. As much as that is nice, it was actually so great to have the chance to unwind. Going on holiday with friends was also great and you’ll be happy to know there was absolute 0 drama as we all love each other too much for that :-P

One thing I was aware of was the fact I was missing training whilst away, so I made sure to pack my gym kit. Running in Spain was much more difficult than I initially anticipated. For my first run I thought I had timed it well by waiting until early evening, but even then it was like jogging across the surface of Mars and I had to tap out after only 4k.

On the completely other side of the spectrum we went for a run in the rain which although had more distance was slow and painful as Spanish authorities (or whoever designs walk ways) clearly have no concern for peoples safety. A small amount of rain had turned every path into an ice rink, so every step had to be careful and pretty flat…resulting in some very achey knees.

I take naming runs on Strava very seriously

On top of that I focused on a lot of stretching; which seems to have done me little good as I’ve started this week stiffer than ever. A few short swim sessions (mainly teaching someone else to swim but oh well) and a few body weight exercises stopped me from feeling like a complete slob. In retrospect I know I could have done more, but the idea of the holiday was to relax and get my mind back on track. If I’d gone away two weeks before it would have been ideal, but I believe I reached a good middle ground.

gotta keep the pectorals on point

Plus, we found this swanky outside gym after stuffing ourselves with pizza #fitness

Natalie x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page