top of page

2018 - Year of the Shred


The NYE familia <3

Happy 2018 to all my readers!

Hope you all had a fantastic Christmas period and great NYE celebrations. My Christmas was actually pretty tame, but my NYE was certainly a little bit wavy. Big shout out to Angel on the Bridge in Henley on Thames for hosting the best NYE party! But less of that, more onto my actual post. The classic ‘New Years Resolution’ post.

I’m not doing ‘New Year, New Me’ as quite frankly I like current me. More like ‘New Year, Slightly Improved Me’. I’m hopping back onto the weight loss wagon. I had a fun start to my winter season, with my coach not really being bothered about my weight I ate a colossal amount to counteract how tired I was feeling from this big bump in training volume. And not much of it was actually good. I gave up excessive sugar at the end of last year, but when Christmas came a calling I had a slippery slide back into the land of chocolate and sweets. So here’s my goals in terms of weight…

I’ve started 2018 hovering around 78KG. I’ve always wanted to see if I can actually get sub 70 before (lowest adult weight being 71KG), so to make it a round number I’ve set myself a target of 68KG by my birthday in June. That gives me 22 weeks, which works out at 1lb a week – a very achievable goal me thinks! To accompany this I’ve set additional parameters:

  • No chips until 75KG

  • No crisps until 70KG

  • No chocolate/sweets until GOAL (Hopefully I can celebrate my birthday with some cake then…)

  • Reduce fizzy drinks (only when eating out)

  • Reduce coffee to one cup a day

  • Reduce bread to one slice a day

Alongside weight loss I’ve also set myself some other targets, obviously to do with rowing mainly…

  • Get a new job

  • Make HWR and/or HRR boat

  • Join the sub-7 club

  • Sort out monthly spending and actually start saving money

  • Start a gratitude/happiness journal – write something positive every day, to read whenever I feel down!

I’m also wanting to try a new challenge every month. I thought of this idea last year but didn’t actually pre-plan my challenges which I believe is why I failed…so far I’ve got dry January, a month of being vegan, a month of daily yoga – let me know any ideas you might have!

Natalie X

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page