top of page

That Well Known Demon: Sugar

It is early days, but for the past week I have been struggling to cut down on the unnecessary sugar in my life. Since starting at Leander in September my weight has fluctuated, but the general trend is that it’s going up. Last week I hit a peak – 78KG, 3KG heavier than when I started! Alarm bells rang in my mind and I descended like a wild animal onto the internet and any other sources I could think of to try and throw together a new diet plan.

Ooooh Ice cream how I miss you

Although I did all that, and it is probably helping, I have to say the biggest help came in the form of my boyfriend. He highlighted that, especially at work, I was trying to compensate my exhaustion with a heft combo of coffee and chocolate. Then at dinner I’d always, always, have pudding – and a big one at that! So, the crackdown began. No more sweets.

The first few days were absolute hell, there’s no denying it. At work I felt like a zombie, crawling through the day at a slug-like pace. On the second day I had a migraine which was so bad I felt ill and then the next few days were followed up with intense pressure headaches. But in the past 2 days those have weaned off. I’m still thinking about chocolate, but actually it’s not as bad as before and I’ve still managed to resist. My sweet tooth is satisfied with fruit and a bit of yoghurt (which I will be cutting down on gradually/switching to less sugary versions).

Bananas: A rowers best friend

On top of that I’ve already lost 1.5KG, in only a week! This is the first week of training since my injury I’ve been allowed to even think about trying the full programme. I’ve definitely felt a hazy fog hanging around my brain, but with every day away from that well known demon sugar it begins to lift. Once I have a better grasp on things I’m going to write a post about my diet plan…

Bring on week 2!

Natalie x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page