top of page

Making the Move

Hello, welcome, take a seat.

In just under a month I make the transition from training alongside a full-time job to working alongside full-time training. I had been thinking about making the switch for a few years, but so many factors prevented me from doing so. Confidence was probably the main contributing factor; self-doubt is a heavy monster that likes to perch on my shoulders and I’m sure it’s one that finds its home on other athletes too.

8 Novice women plus 1 coach plus 1 novice man...should just about manage that shell right? (I'm circled red!)

Funnily enough age was a factor too. I’m 24 and only started rowing when I was 19; this has become a growing trend now, thanks to the success of the London Olympics. Rowing has gained more media attention through televised World Cups and the inclusion of women during the Cancer Research UK boat race. If I had gone to a university known for their rowing programme then starting late would not be such a bad thing. However, I went to Keele University. A great place full of friendly and supporting people, but the rowing squad was young and with only one part time coach between up to 60 students it was more of a ‘don’t die or don’t break anything’ affair. I have really enjoyed seeing them progress and really start to push themselves to achieve greatness, there's no doubt that in a few years’ time they’ll be strong enough to consider entering the bigger regattas such as MET, HWR and even HRR.

Chilling at 7, shades always necessary

Personally I classify my move to Henley Rowing Club as when I really 'started to row'. Coaching became much more targeted and I found myself moving from strength to strength over the course of a season, it highlighted to me that rowing was something I had developed a great passion for and something I wanted to take further.

Trusted with the steering during WIM1 final. Needless to say...I didn't stick to my lane

Nerves constantly bubble inside me. Even the pre-season training programme is a big step up in terms of volume and structure. I’m also forcing myself to get out into the single more and more. Pushing myself in each session because I’m acutely aware there’s a big chance I will be the slowest, least experienced girl in the squad come September. I’m determined not to be playing catch up all year and I hope you enjoy running, erging, cycling, weight lifting and rowing alongside me.

Most importantly, I hope that I can show you that it’s not too late to take that step. If you’re thinking about taking up rowing, no matter what you’re age, it’s never too late. Don’t let the fear of being last stop you from doing something, let it be the motivator you need to push you on when training is getting tough.

Natalie x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page